Warriors dominate sectional wrestling tourney, nearly entire team advances

Like and Share this story on Facebook

By Carol McIntire


Carrollton won the Division II East District sectional wrestling title Saturday at Claymont, crowned three champions and will send nearly the entire team to the district tournament next weekend at Galia.

The Warriors won the team title with 212 points. Minerva finished a distant second with 184 and New Philadelphia third at 167 in the 10-team field.

Seniors Landon Jenkins (106 lbs.), Kail Snair (113) and Josh Carman won sectional titles. Jenkins scored a technical fall over Vince Coleman of Zanesville 17-0, Snair pinned Danile McGarr of Claymont (3:15) and Carman won by default over Tyler Ulmer of New Philadelphia.

Senior Levi Pidgeon suffered his fourth loss of the season in the title bout, falling 6-4 to Danny Waite of Maysville.

John Childs (132), Dalton Naylor (190), Owen Spilker (215) and Aidan Shaw (HWT) all placed third and qualified for the district tournament.

Jayden Sutton (144), Dalton Sweeney (157), Jamasen Powell (165) and Gavin Slutz (175), placed fourth to earn a district berth.


Four Lions claimed championships: Mark Mueller (120), Joey Brocklehurst (132) Lincoln Wallace (144) and Hunter Dietrich (170).

Mueller posted a 14-11 decision over Carter Abella of Maysville, Brocklehurst (132) pinned DreVonn Searcy of Claymont (5:04), Wallace earned a 7-2 decision over Caleb Monlux of Maysville and Dietrich (175) shook the hand of Noah McFee of Zanesville, took him down and recorded a pin in 44 seconds.

The top four placers in each weight class advance next weekend will advance to the state tournament March 8-10 in Columbus.    

Leave a Comment

Sign up for our Newsletter

Interested in a monthl roundup of stories? Enter your email to be added to our mailing list.

Skip to content