2020 CHS Athletic HOF class selected

Like and Share this story on Facebook

1954-55 boys basketball team, runner Brad Roudebush ,golfer Tim Hepner, wrestler Jamie Reed, coach Ray Metz and three-sport athlete Pat Herron comprise list of inductees

By Carol McIntire
Five individuals will join the 1954-55 boys basketball team as the 2020 class of the Carrollton High School Athletic Hall of Fame.
Brad Roudebush (class of 2003), Tim Hepner (2004), Jamie Reed (1977), Pat Herron (1967) and Ray Metz (coach, deceased) make up the list of individuals.
Hall of Fame Weekend is scheduled Sept. 4 and 5. The inductees will be recognized during halftime of the Carrollton vs. Akron Coventry football game Sept. 4. The breakfast and induction ceremony will be held Sept. 5 beginning at 9 a.m. in the high school commons. Tickets are $15 per person. To reserve tickets, contact Mark Spears at 330-324-1254.
The 1954-55 team posted a 17-3 record, set the school record for points per game and two or three tournament games. They won the ECOL championship.
Team members included David Donaldson, Frank Boggs, Wayne Jones, Jim McElroy, William Sloan, Bill Henninger, Jack Lumley, Charles McCully, Frank McCully, Dick Hiler, Lynn Markley, Kenneth Neely, Bob Dusenberry and Laurel Van Harten. The team was coached by Myron Burt, who compiled a 48-34 record in four years at the helm of the Warriors (1953-56).
The team was nominated by Frank McCully.
Brad Roudebush was a four year cross country letter winner and three-time state qualifier in Division I under Coach Kevin Spears. He was a four-time first-team Northeastern Buckeye Conference (NBC) runner. Roudebush won four varsity track letters and was a two-time first-team NBC pick under Coach Dave Wells.
Roudebush was nominated by Pete Husted.
Tim Hepner was the NBC golfer of the year (league MVP) his senior year and a first-team NBC selection in 2002 and 2003 as well as the team’s MVP both years. He was a second-team NBC pick in 2000 and 2001 and was a member of the 2001 team that qualified for the district tournament.
Hepner was nominated by Curt Hensley and Dave Wells.
Jamie Reed played football and wrestled all four years of his high school career, earning varsity letters each year in each sport. He was the first three-time state wrestling qualifier in school history and a three-time Senate League champion. He was the team’s MVP in 1976 under coach Ralph Lloyd.
On the gridiron, Reed was a lineman on the offensive and defensive lines.
Reed was nominated by Rick Tschantz and Ann Lloyd.
Patrick Herron was a three-sport athlete at CHS, playing football for Coach Don McBride, basketball for Coach Dick King and baseball for Coach Manfull. He was a co-captain of the football team, the team MVP and was named best defensive back. Herron was a captain for both the basketball and baseball teams.
He was inducted in the HOF in 2012 as member of the 1965 football team.
He was nominated by Rachel Herron.
Ray Metz, who will be inducted into the HOF posthumously, coached a total of six years at Carrollton High School. He led the Warrior football team in 1928 and the basketball team from 1929-1934. He compiled a 47-35 regular season record and was 10-5 in tournament play during that period. He took the 1930 team to the state semi-finals.
He held the record for most tournament wins until Matt Voll surpassed the mark in 2011. Metz was nominated by Ron Colaprete.

Leave a Comment


Stray Cat Digital

Recent Sports News

Follow Us

Sign up for our Newsletter

Interested in a monthl roundup of stories? Enter your email to be added to our mailing list.

Skip to content