Commissioners re-organize fornew year

Like and Share this story on Facebook

Commissioner Robert Wirkner

By Thomas Clapper

CCM Reporter

Carroll County Commissioners re-organized and appointed Commissioner Robert Wirkner as president at the Jan. 4 meeting. 

“I would like to thank Commissioner Chris Modranski for his service as president,” said Wirkner who will now lead each meeting. 

Commissioner Donald Leggett II was chosen as vice president.

Other appointments include: Christopher R. Modranski to the OMEGA Executive Board with Robert E. Wirkner as alternate for a term of one year retroactive to January 1, 2024 through December 31, 2024; the Board of Commissioners being Donald E. Leggett II, Christopher R. Modranski and Robert E. Wirkner to the OMEGA Membership Board for a term of one year retroactive to January 1, 2024 through December 31, 2024; Jeffrey L. Ohler was approved to the Tax Incentive Review Council (TIRC) for the remainder of a 3 year term that expires Feb. 17, 2026; and Mike Schmuck approved to the Law Library Resource Board for a five-year term retroactive to Jan. 1, 2024 through Dec. 31, 2028.

“I would like to take this time to challenge the board, all elected officials and county government employees to take every opportunity to improve the quality of life for our citizens and make our operations convenient and efficient as possible for the people we serve in Carroll County,” said Wirkner. 

In other business, commissioners:

-HEARD Dog Warden Cason Leggett’s yearly report which included eight dogs carried over from 2022, and 258 dogs came into the pound. Of those 258, 182 were stray dogs, 62 dogs were surrendered and 14 dogs were special conditions dogs such humane society cases or law enforcement issues where a dog was present. Owners reclaimed 77 dogs and six dogs were euthanized; four for aggression and two for illness. This time 12 dogs were carried over into 2024.

Leave a Comment

Sign up for our Newsletter

Interested in a monthl roundup of stories? Enter your email to be added to our mailing list.

Skip to content