Voice of Democracy winners recognized

Share this story

Those recognized as winners in the Voice of Democracy and Patriot’s Pen contest were recognized last week by VFW Post 3301 and its Auxiliary. Seated from left: Ryan S. Barnett and Elizabeth Mayle. Second row: Tammy Newbold, auxiliary president; Cara M. Cook, Kylee R. Mickley, Ryan Barrick and Jim Newbold, Post 3301 quarter master.

Fighting McCook Veterans of Foreign War Post 3301 recognized winners in the Patriot’s Pen and Voice of Democracy contests. 

Winners and their families were treated to a dinner prepared by the VFW Auxiliary. Awards were presented by VFW Post 3301 Quarter Master Jim Newbold and Auxiliary President Tammy Newbold. 

Elizabeth V. Mayle, a Carrollton High School student, was recognized as District 6 Voice of Democracy winner and Ryan S. Barnett, a Carrollton middle school student, was the District 6 Patriot’s Pen winner. Both also won the local contest to advance to district competition

The Patriot’s Pen contest encourages students in grades 6-8 to examine America’s history, along with their own experiences in modern American society, by writing a 300-400-word essay expressing their views based on a patriotic theme chosen by the VFW commander in chief.

The Voice of Democracy is a nationwide scholarship contest for grades 9-12 and awards more than $2.3 million in scholarships. 

Other Patriot’s Pen winners on the local level included: Cara Cook, second; Kylee Mickley, third; and Ryan Barrick, fourth.  

Recipients received cash awards, certificates and pins. 

Leave a Comment


Recent Sports News

Follow Us


Sign up for our Newsletter

Interested in a monthl roundup of stories? Enter your email to be added to our mailing list.

Skip to content