Kaylee Leggett receives coveted John Phillip Sousa band award

Share this story

ABOVE PHOTO: Carrollton High School band special awards. From left: Kevin Walters, assistant band director; Tobias Barnhart and Kole White, both director’s award recipients; Kaylee Leggett, John Phillip Sousa award recipient; and Dave Dickerhoof, director.

Carrollton High School band members were recognized for their accomplishments, dedication and musical talents during the annual high school/eighth grade concert, held April 21 in the high school performing arts center.

Special awards

Tobias Barnhart and Kole White received Director’s awards. 

“Over the last four years, he’s shown great improvement. It’s been a please to watch him grow,” Director Dave Dickerhoof said in presenting Barnhart his award.

“Kole has taken on several instruments and played in several ensembles for us as well as being an aide,” Dickerhoof said as he presented White his award. 

Senior Kaylee Leggett was presented the John Phillip Sousa Award as the outstanding band member. 

Introduced in 1955, the award recognizes superior musicianship and outstanding dedication. The award is the most prestigious award presented to high school band members.

Senior recognition

Ten senior members were recognized and presented framed pictures. Seniors include White, Leggett, Barnhart, Tara Oberlin, Courtney Edmonds, Kara Zacapala-Diaz, Allison Barrett, Masyn Ohler,  Alex Lowery and Gabe Meek. 

Leave a Comment


Recent Sports News

Follow Us


Sign up for our Newsletter

Interested in a monthl roundup of stories? Enter your email to be added to our mailing list.

Skip to content